There is no longer any doubt that distracted driving is dangerous, not only for the driver, but for passengers, cyclists, pedestrians and other drivers out on the road. If you have a teenaged driver in the house, you might even feel more anxious about the issue; after all, teen drivers lack experience, and may not be able to avoid an accident even when they’re paying attention, let alone when they – or someone else – is using a phone in the car.
That’s why we wanted to introduce you to Technology and Teen Driving, a one-stop resource for parents and teens with the most recent facts and statistics about distracted driving, and the dangers it presents. Technology and Teen Driving offers tips for driving, tools to keep you from getting distracted, and a free distracted driving discussion guide you can download to help you talk to your children. It even has a free teen driving contract, for those of you who prefer to get things in writing.
South Carolina’s laws on cell phone use in the car
South Carolina adopted the “Uniform Act Regulating Traffic on Highways,” which outlines the rules of the road for drivers in our state. Under the SC Code § 56-5-3890 section of that Act:
“It is unlawful for a person to use a wireless electronic communication device to compose, send, or read a text-based communication while operating a motor vehicle on the public streets and highways of this State.” The law, however, does not apply to anyone who is:
- “lawfully parked or stopped;
- using a hands-free wireless electronic communication device;
- summoning emergency assistance;
- transmitting or receiving data as part of a digital dispatch system;
- a public safety official while in the performance of the person’s official duties; or
- using a global positioning system device or an internal global positioning system feature or function of a wireless electronic communication device for the purpose of navigation or obtaining related traffic and road condition information.”
If you are caught texting, you face a $25 fine for your first offense, and a $50 fine for any subsequent offense. There is no law that bans talking on cellphones, whether you are hands-free or not. Despite all of the dangers associated with talking on the phone while driving, South Carolina’s law is only concerned with texting.
This is why Technology and Teen Driving is such a great resource for parents. It is our job to pick up where the law leaves off, and to encourage good driving habits in our kids. We want to protect our loved ones from harm, and teaching them the facts about distracted driving is a smart start.
If you or your loved one has sustained an injury because of a distracted driver, McGowan, Hood & Felder, LLC wants to help. Our experienced South Carolina car crash lawyers will fight for justice on your behalf. Please call 803-327-7800, or fill out our contact form, and schedule a free consultation with a member of our team today.
Randy is the former President of the South Carolina Association for Justice. He has been certified by the American Board of Professional Liability as a specialist in Medical Malpractice Law which is recognized by the South Carolina Bar. Randy has also been awarded the distinction of being a “Super Lawyer” 10 times in the last decade. He has over 25 years of experience helping injured people fight back against corporations, hospitals and wrong-doers.
Read more about S. Randall Hood